Book Review: Dead Ringers

27 Mar

Susan Knight

Dead Ringers, the latest collection by Robert Perret, consists of eleven stories which previously appeared separately in other anthologies or reviews, including some of the earlier MX books of New Sherlock Holmes stories.

The plots are pleasingly preposterous and often quite lurid, some revisiting familiar tales from the canon, such as A Study in Scarlet or The Copper Beeches. Others tread new ground. The Bogus Laundry Affair takes the reader into the sinister underworld of London, while The Adventure of the Pharaoh’s Tablet, toys with the occult. The longest story and the final one in the book, For King and Country, starts in the First World War, with Watson at the Somme discovering a mysterious roomful of corpses neatly seated round a table. With more plot twists than a corkscrew, and a side trip to Turkey, the story ends in post-war France and a well-deserved retirement…

View original post 141 more words

Leave a comment

Posted by on March 27, 2020 in Uncategorized


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: